Reviews · Uncategorized

Skyward – Brandon Sanderson | Review

277c4229-7328-4c9e-a9ea-8569e5b393c7

Hey, Hello!

I received Skyward by Brandon Sanderson in a past Fairyloot box but having never read anything by Brandon before I was really unsure about picking it up.

And then Darkroom Tours asked me if I wanted to read and review Starsight – the sequel to Skyward, so I jumped at the chance and then made sure to read Skyward.

062c11bb-114a-4498-8937-0182d8b9dd15

a9aae860-04e2-46bd-b6b6-6854ffc592b3

Skyward

Title: Skyward
Author: Brandon Sanderson
Pages: 513
Publication date: November 2018
Publisher: Gollancz
ISBN:  9781473217867
Genre: YA/Sci-fi/Fantasy
My rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️
Blurb:

Defeated, crushed, and driven almost to extinction, the remnants of the human race are trapped on a planet that is constantly attacked by mysterious alien starfighters. Spensa, a teenage girl living among them, longs to be a pilot. When she discovers the wreckage of an ancient ship, she realizes this dream might be possible—assuming she can repair the ship, navigate flight school, and (perhaps most importantly) persuade the strange machine to help her. Because this ship, uniquely, appears to have a soul.

062c11bb-114a-4498-8937-0182d8b9dd15

56198f66-c991-40c4-b27d-c3a83a9daedd

Skyward follows a young girl called Spensa who dreams of nothing more than to become a pilot and follow in her fathers foot steps of defending her home planet against alien creatures known as The Krell. Due to something that happened on her fathers last flight, he was labelled as a traitor and as a result of that Spensa doesn’t have it easy and her chances of becoming a pilot appear to be pretty much non-existent.

Having never read anything by Brandon Sanderson before I was nervous because I know tons of people love his books, I honestly had no reason to be nervous because I really ended up loving this book for many reasons.

The writing itself was fast paced, completely immersive and I truly felt like I was in Spensa’s spaceship with her fighting the Krell and taking training exercises. I was never bored whilst reading Skyward and it didn’t even feel like a 500+ page book.

I quickly fell in love with Spensa – she’s badass and doesn’t take anyones crap even when everyone doesn’t let her forget that her father was a traitor. Obviously Spensa doesn’t believe that he did what everyone says and I really loved how she stuck to her beliefs and did everything to try and find out the truth about what happened.

I also really enjoyed the cast of characters, they were all so different to each other but they worked really well together and complimented each other perfectly. Doomslug was super cute aswell and I want my own pet space slug thing, whatever she/he is.

My favourite character from Skyward was definitely M-Bot. Spensa finds M-Bot, a AI ship, while living in a cavern during her training exercises and I think that M-Bot is the best part of this story. I lived for Spensa and M-Bot interactions, the humor, the sarcasm…everything was perfect for the 2 of them and I wish I had my own M-Bot.

I’m so thankful that I can go onto Starsight next and continue this story, especially after that ending. Just…wow.

c1c56286-96c5-45a4-be34-7a2fd8183252